Panchayats (Extension to Scheduled Areas) Act (PESA) is a Central legislation that extends the Provisions of the Panchayats, as given in Part IX of the Constitution, to the Fifth Schedule Areas with certain modifications and exemptions. These areas have preponderance of tribal population. PESA legally recognizes the right of tribal communities to govern themselves through their own systems of self-government and also acknowledges their traditional rights over natural resources. Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Rajasthan, and Telangana are among the states with Fifth Schedule Areas that are covered under PESA.

  • Why was PESA Enacted
  • What does PESA Entail
  • Main Objectives
  • Sailent Features

Click the below link to download (Or  login to see the link)Download PDF


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.